NAN Food Advisory Council

Due to the vast geographical area of NAN territory and the challenges that presents a NAN Food Advisory Council members (NFAC) has been structured to ensure community input into the strategy. Members are appointed by each First Nation Council and Independent First Nations and serve two to three year terms.

The mandate of NFSC is to provide NAN’s Executive Council member and NAN technical staff advice, views and recommendations to support ongoing development of the NAN Food Strategy as well as ensure information is communicated to respective communities within First Nation Councils and Independent First Nations.

The council members are:

Independent First Nation-Mishkeegogamang First Nation
Chief Connie Gray-McKay

Independent First Nation Alliance
Gail Winters- Health Director SLFNA

Keewaytinook Okimakanak
currently no representative

Matawa-Aroland First Nation
Sheldon Atlookan-Band Council member

Mushkegowuk Council
Deputy Grand Chief Rebecca Friday

Shibogama First Nation Council – Wawakapewin
Arlene Jung-Health Director/Band Council member

Wabun Tribal Council
Jean Lemieux-Health Director

Windigo First Nation Council
currently no representative